Anonymous Grade A office tower on a tree-lined Kuala Lumpur street at dusk

TenantCommercial

KL Eco City Office for Rent in KL (2026) | SPEEDHOME

How much does a KL Eco City office actually cost in 2026?

KL Eco City is a 25-acre S P Setia + DBKL mixed-use development at 3 Jalan Bangsar, 59200 Kuala Lumpur, with a verified 92% overall office occupancy, full MSC Malaysia Cybercentre designation since 5 October 2021, and a direct elevated link to the Abdullah Hukum LRT (Kelana Jaya Line, KJ17) and KTM Komuter station. Asking rent varies materially across four sub-products: Menara 1 strata office RM 3.20–5.50 psf, The Pillars 1–12 (boutique offices) RM 4.50–7.50 psf, Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 corporate towers RM 6.50–8.67 psf (rent + service charge + central AC bundled), and Aspire Tower (42 storeys, completed Q3 2023) from RM 7.30 psf — all observed on active 2025–early 2026 listings (a dated broker listing, a dated broker listing, JLL, KLEC FAQ).

KL Eco City is the only KL location outside the city centre that combines MSC Cybercentre status, MRT-grade rail at the lobby, and ~25,000 sf corporate-tower floor plates in a single address. The Pillars sub-product is the most searched but the lowest in asking rent; the corporate towers are the only product line where the rent, service charge and central AC are bundled into a single gross figure.

What are the headline facts about KL Eco City?

Field Value Source / date
Name KL Eco City (KLEC) Wikipedia, 2026-08-06
Address 3, Jalan Bangsar, KL Eco City, 59200 Kuala Lumpur a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06
Submarket Bangsar / Lembah Pantai Wikipedia, 2026-08-06
Grade Grade A (corporate towers); upper-Grade-B to lower-Grade-A (Pillars boutique) KLEC FAQ, 2026
Master developer S P Setia Berhad (MYX:8664) — JV with DBKL Wikipedia, 2026-08-06
Project launched 2011; phases delivered 2018–2023 (Aspire Tower Q3 2023) SP Setia + Wikipedia, 2026-08-06
Total office sub-products 3 corporate towers + 1 strata tower (Menara 1, 232 units) + 12 boutique blocks (Pillars) Wikipedia, 2026-08-06
Menara 1 strata unit size 1,035 – 1,459 sf per unit (35 floors) a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06
Pillars 1–12 floor plate 3,025 – 4,489 sf (17–20 storeys) KLEC broker site, 2026-08-06
Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 floor plate 12,000 – 15,200 sf (floors 2–17: 14,550 sf; floors 18–40: 15,200 sf) KLEC broker site, 2026-08-06
Green certification (retail) GBI NRNC certified (KL Eco City Mall, validity 9 Oct 2015 – 8 Oct 2018 — renewal not on public GBI portfolio as of 2026-08-06); LEED Core & Shell 2009 Gold (KL Eco City Mall + The Hub, certified 12 Oct 2020) GBI + GBIG, 2026-08-06
Green certification (office) Master-plan target LEED Core & Shell Gold and GBI NRNC Gold (IEN Consultants); a dated broker listing round-up states three corporate towers with Silver/Gold ratings — per-tower GBI certificates not individually published on the GBI public portfolio IEN Consultants + a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06
MD / MSC status Verified — entire KL Eco City is an MSC Malaysia Cybercentre since 5 October 2021; Mercu 2 is the sole "Designated Premises" that confers the full MSC Bill of Guarantees to its tenants; Aspire Tower operates as MSC Tier-2 MIDA, 2026-08-06; a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06
Building occupancy (overall office) 92% (SP Setia 2022 release; majority-occupancy holds at KLEC FAQ 2026) SP Setia, 2022; KLEC FAQ, 2026
Last verified Asking rent, occupancy, MD status, green cert: 2026-08-06. Service charge, parking rate, AC OT, reinstatement: see unverified row below.

Unverified fields (one honest row): Per-psf service charge, parking bay ratio, parking monthly rate, after-hours AC rate, diplomatic-clause terms, reinstatement cost, break-clause penalty, and minimum-lease / deposit schedule for individual owners are not in public sources. Confirm with S P Setia management or the per-block property manager (Knight Frank Malaysia / CBRE / WTW depending on the tower) before contracting.

What will a KL Eco City office actually cost me in 2026 (TCO)?

Use the corporate-tower (Mercu 2 / Mercu 3) line for a 5,000 sf take-up as the worked example. Service charge and central AC are bundled into the quoted rent for corporate towers; the Pillars and Menara 1 strata pay their own electricity (including AC electricity) on top of net rent. All figures in RM unless stated; SST 8% applies to rent.

Cost line Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 (corporate, gross-inclusive) Pillars (boutique, net) Menara 1 (strata, net)
Asking rent (psf/mo, observed) 6.50 – 8.67 (fully fitted) 4.50 – 7.50 (bare to fitted) 3.20 – 5.50 (bare to fitted)
Service charge Bundled in rent Strata maintenance benchmark RM 0.42 psf (Pillars only) Owner-billed separately; benchmark RM 0.50–1.50 psf
Central AC during office hours Bundled Tenant pays own AC electricity Tenant pays own AC electricity
Parking (1 bay per 2,000 sf) RM 318/mo (floating); RM 636/mo (reserved) Same KLEC rate card Same KLEC rate card
After-hours AC Not in public sources — building management call required
Utilities estimate (5,000 sf, office use) ~RM 0.50–0.80 psf (KL Grade A norm, not KLEC-specific) Tenant direct (TNB) Tenant direct (TNB)
SST on rent 8% (current; 6% in stale guides) 8% 8%
Total all-in (5,000 sf, gross, 12 bays reserved) ~RM 47,000 – RM 60,000 / month (rent inclusive of SC + central AC; SST adds 8%) ~RM 28,000 – RM 45,000 / month + AC electricity + own internet ~RM 20,000 – RM 32,000 / month + AC electricity + own internet

For a 5,000 sf take-up on the Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 line, first-day cash to budget (deposit + 1 month advance + stamping fee, no fit-out): RM 47,000 × 3.5 months = ~RM 165,000 – RM 210,000 for an SP Setia-let corporate suite under the 2 + 2 + 1 (security + utility + advance rent) deposit schedule. Strata owners typically ask 2 + 1 + 0.5; foreigner / newco tenants may be quoted 4–6 months total cash-in.

Reinstatement cost at exit: Not in public sources. KL Grade A market norm is RM 15–40 psf depending on scope — confirm with the per-block property manager before contracting.

Will my team fit at KL Eco City, and on which floor?

KL Eco City has four sub-products with materially different floor plates, so a single headcount answer does not work. Use the table below to map your team to the right product.

Team size Density Space needed Fits at KL Eco City? Approx. all-in monthly cost (gross)
20 pax 100 sqft/pax (lean) → 150 sqft/pax (standard) 2,000 – 3,000 sf Pillars 1–12 (3,025–4,489 sf floor) — yes, half-floor Pillars: RM 13,500 – RM 22,500 / mo + own AC electricity
50 pax 100 – 150 sqft/pax 5,000 – 7,500 sf Pillars full-floor, or Menara 1 strata (multi-unit), or part-floor in Mercu 2/3 Mercu 2/3 (5,000 sf): RM 32,500 – RM 43,500 / mo gross-inclusive; Pillars full-floor (7,500 sf): RM 33,750 – RM 56,250 / mo + AC
100 pax 100 – 150 sqft/pax 10,000 – 15,000 sf Mercu 2/3 corporate towers — yes, one floor (15,200 sf on upper floors) or part-floor Mercu 2/3 (15,000 sf): RM 97,500 – RM 130,000 / mo gross-inclusive

A 100-person team on the standard 150 sqft/pax density fits on a single Mercu 2/3 floor (15,200 sf on the upper floors, per the per-floor plate on the KLEC broker site). Mercu 2 is the only sub-product that confers the full MSC Bill of Guarantees to its tenants — relevant if MD status matters to your tax position (see MD section below).

How do I actually get to KL Eco City?

KL Eco City is the only KL address outside the city centre with a direct, integrated rail hub at the lobby. Abdullah Hukum LRT station (Kelana Jaya Line, code KJ17) and the Abdullah Hukum KTM Komuter station (Tanjung Malim–Port Klang Line) connect to the development via a covered elevated link from The Hub entrance — measured <100 m to the entrance (Wikipedia, citing Google Earth). The Mall and The Hub both have direct elevated link bridges; the walk from the LRT platform to the Mercu 2 lobby is genuinely covered, no road crossing required.

E-hailing (Grab) pickup works from the Jalan Bangsar frontage with a kerb-side lay-by designed for ride-hailing. Car park entry at the 8:45 am peak: not in public sources — visit at the same hour you would commute to verify.

The Federal Route 2 / Jalan Bangsar corridor connects directly to the NPE and SPRINT; the Bangsar neighbourhood is one of KL's tighter evening-peak corridors, so the LRT link is a real operational advantage for teams that travel mid-day or after 7 pm.

Who is in the building at KL Eco City?

Anchor and named tenants (all confirmed in public sources as of 2026-08-06):

  • Samsung Malaysia Electronics (Head Office) — corporate office
  • Zurich Malaysia (Head Office) — corporate office
  • Gibraltar BSN Life Berhad (Head Office) — corporate office
  • J&T Express (Malaysia operations) — corporate office
  • Shopee Malaysia — corporate office
  • Klook Malaysia — corporate office
  • Zalora Malaysia — corporate office
  • F-Secure Corporation (M) Sdn Bhd — corporate office
  • Veolia Water (Malaysia) Holding & Veolia Water Technologies — corporate office
  • WeWork (coworking operator) — Levels 16–20, Boutique Office 1 (B-O1-D), Menara 2 (The Pillars)
  • Phillip Wain Malaysia — corporate office

Sources: The Edge Malaysia "KL Eco City – The New Global District" advertorial (2026-08-06) and SP Setia's Aspire Tower press release. Tenant floor allocations are not disclosed in the sources reviewed for most named tenants. The tenant mix is heavily skewed toward insurance, e-commerce logistics, and tech/digital — a function of the MSC Cybercentre designation.

What is the lease risk at KL Eco City?

KL Eco City is operated across multiple sub-products by different landlords (S P Setia for corporate towers; individual / institutional investors for strata and boutique offices). The risk profile therefore varies by sub-product.

  • Reinstatement cost at exit: Not in public sources. Market norm for KL Grade A is RM 15–40 psf; the Pillars and Menara 1 strata typically have a defined "bare-shell" deliverable at handover that narrows the exit scope. Confirm the dilapidations schedule in the letter of offer.
  • Break clause: Not in public sources. KL Grade A market practice: tenant may exercise break after year 2 or 3, with 3 months written notice + 2–3 months rent compensation; varies materially by deal size and tenant profile.
  • Diplomatic clause (foreign tenants): Not in public sources for KLEC specifically. Standard for foreign tenants at KL Grade A; SP Setia is known to be flexible on diplomatic clause for MSC-status tenants — confirm with the management office before signing.
  • Fair wear and tear vs damage: Not in public sources. The clause is in every KL commercial lease; mitigation is a photographic move-in / move-out inventory timestamped to the handover date. For unreturned-deposit disputes, the small-claims track at the Sessions Court is the cited recourse; verify the current court path with a Malaysia-licensed attorney before relying on it.
  • Minimum lease term: 2 years is the standard for both Menara 1 strata and The Pillars (per typical KL commercial strata practice reflected in active listings). Corporate towers (Mercu 2/3, Aspire) typically 3 years minimum; 5 years common for MSC-status tenants.
  • Typical deposit: 2 + 2 + 1 (security + utility + advance rent) for S P Setia-let corporate suites; varies for individual strata owners. 3 + 3 + 3 is also seen on fully fitted Pillars units with international tenants.
  • Escalation rate: 5–7% per annum for corporate towers; 3–5% for strata and boutique offices. 2025–2026 market is a soft market with downward pressure; some new deals at 0% for year 1 then 5%.

For MNC / high-covenant tenants, some landlords accept a bank guarantee in place of a cash security deposit, preserving working capital. Verify directly with S P Setia or the per-block manager before assuming this is on offer — it is not standard for every landlord.

Is KL Eco City Malaysia Digital / MSC certified?

Yes — verified. The entire KL Eco City development has been an MSC Malaysia Cybercentre since 5 October 2021 (MIDA confirmation). However, only Mercu 2 is the MSC "Designated Premises" within KLEC that confers the full MSC Bill of Guarantees to its tenants (income tax exemption, foreign knowledge worker employment, etc.). Aspire Tower operates as MSC Tier-2; The Pillars and Menara 1 strata are within the MSC Cybercentre zone but tenants still need to qualify individually for MSC status.

Important context (per the doctrine, applies across every KL building): MD / MSC status is company-activity-based since 25 March 2022, not tied to a designated building. Only ~35% of Malaysia's purpose-built office stock is MD-certified and only ~13% of MD companies actually sit in MD-certified premises — so "do I need to be in an MD building" is a real question. For most tenants the answer is no; the tax incentives follow the company's qualifying activity, not the building address. If you are pursuing MSC status, your priority is your activity profile, not the building — but Mercu 2 inside KLEC is one of the few KL addresses where both the building-level designation and the activity-level qualification can be pursued together.

Compare: 3 same-submarket (Bangsar / KL fringe) peers

Building Sub-product Asking rent (psf/mo) Floor plate Verified MD status MRT / LRT access
KL Eco City (Mercu 2/3) Grade A corporate RM 6.50 – 8.67 (gross-inclusive) 12,000 – 15,200 sf Yes — MSC Cybercentre + Designated Premises (Mercu 2) Abdullah Hukum LRT (KJ17) + KTM, integrated hub at lobby
The Pillars 1–12 (KLEC) Upper-B / lower-A boutique RM 4.50 – 7.50 (net) 3,025 – 4,489 sf Yes — within MSC Cybercentre zone (no Designated Premises) Same integrated hub
Menara 1 (KLEC strata) Strata office RM 3.20 – 5.50 (net) 1,035 – 1,459 sf per unit Yes — within MSC Cybercentre zone Same integrated hub

For a wider Bangsar / Mid Valley peer (Bangsar South, Mid Valley City), Knight Frank Q1 2025 reports the Mid Valley City / KL Eco City submarket average asking rent at RM 6.47 psf per month (up 0.5% q-o-q).

FAQ — KL Eco City office for rent in KL

Is KL Eco City Malaysia Digital / MSC status?

Yes — verified. The entire development has been an MSC Malaysia Cybercentre since 5 October 2021. Only Mercu 2 is the MSC "Designated Premises" that confers the full MSC Bill of Guarantees to tenants; Aspire Tower is MSC Tier-2; Pillars and Menara 1 are within the zone but tenants qualify individually. MD status itself is company-activity-based since March 2022, not building-bound.

What is the service charge at KL Eco City?

Not in public sources as a single per-psf figure. For Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 corporate towers, service charge and central AC are bundled into the quoted rent (per the KLEC FAQ). For The Pillars, the strata maintenance benchmark observed in active sale listings is RM 0.42 psf. For Menara 1 strata, the building-specific psf is not disclosed in the sources reviewed; KL Grade A market norm is RM 0.95–1.50 psf + 10% sinking fund. Confirm with the per-block property manager.

How much is a 5,000 sq ft office at KL Eco City per month?

For a 5,000 sf take-up in the Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 corporate line (gross-inclusive of service charge and central AC), all-in cost is approximately RM 32,500 – RM 43,500 per month before SST (RM 35,100 – RM 47,000 after 8% SST), plus 12 reserved car bays at RM 636 each (RM 7,632/mo). For the Pillars boutique line, RM 22,500 – RM 37,500/mo before SST + own AC electricity + own internet.

What is the floor plate size at KL Eco City?

Four sub-products, four different floor plates: Menara 1 strata unit 1,035–1,459 sf; Pillars 1–12 floor 3,025–4,489 sf; Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 corporate tower 12,000–15,200 sf per floor (upper floors 15,200 sf); Aspire Tower (42 storeys) per-suite 1,251 sf on observed early-2026 listings.

Is KL Eco City green certified?

Partially verified. The retail mall (KL Eco City Mall + The Hub) holds LEED Core & Shell 2009 Gold (certified 12 Oct 2020, GBIG) and a GBI NRNC certificate (validity 9 Oct 2015 – 8 Oct 2018 — renewal not visible on the GBI public portfolio as of 2026-08-06). The office towers' master plan targets LEED Core & Shell Gold and GBI NRNC Gold; per-tower office GBI certificates are not individually published. State as "LEED Gold for the retail component; office-tower GBI certificates not individually published" rather than claiming whole-development certification.

How far is KL Eco City from the nearest MRT / LRT?

Direct, integrated, at the lobby. Abdullah Hukum LRT (Kelana Jaya Line, KJ17) and Abdullah Hukum KTM Komuter connect to The Hub via covered elevated link — measured <100 m to the entrance. No road crossing required from the LRT platform to the Mercu 2 lobby.

What is the car park ratio at KL Eco City?

1 floating season pass per 2,000 sq ft of office space (KLEC FAQ). Monthly rate RM 318 / bay (floating) or RM 636 / bay (reserved). Visitor casual parking is available at KL Eco City Mall hourly rates; Mid Valley / The Gardens monthly and hourly options are a 5-minute walk across the pedestrian bridge.

What is the minimum lease term at KL Eco City?

2 years for Menara 1 strata and The Pillars (per active listings). Mercu 2 / Mercu 3 corporate towers typically 3 years minimum; 5 years common for MSC-status tenants. Building-specific minimum not disclosed in the sources reviewed — confirm with the per-block property manager.

Does KL Eco City's landlord accept a diplomatic clause for foreign tenants?

Not in public sources for KLEC specifically. Diplomatic clause is standard for foreign tenants at KL Grade A; SP Setia is known to be flexible on this for MSC-status tenants. Verify with S P Setia management before signing.

What is the reinstatement cost at lease exit at KL Eco City?

Not in public sources. Market norm for KL Grade A is RM 15–40 psf for corporate towers, RM 5–25 psf for boutique / strata, depending on scope. The Pillars and Menara 1 strata typically have a defined "bare-shell" deliverable at handover that narrows the exit scope. Confirm the dilapidations schedule in the letter of offer.

How recent is this data?

Rent, occupancy, MSC status, green certification and rail access verified 2026-08-06. Service charge per psf, parking monthly rate, after-hours AC rate, break / diplomatic clause mechanics, reinstatement cost and minimum lease / deposit schedule are not in public sources as of 2026-08-06; confirm with S P Setia management or the per-block property manager before contracting. Last full review: 2026-08-06 by SPEEDHOME.

Compare more KL offices

Start with the KL office leasing guide. Then compare Menara TNB and Menara 1 Dutamas before shortlisting a building.

← Back to all posts