Anonymous Grade A office tower on a tree-lined Kuala Lumpur street at dusk

TenantCommercial

Sunway Putra Tower Office for Rent, KL (2026) | SPEEDHOME

Quick answer

Sunway Putra Tower is a 33-storey, 317,000 sq ft NLA office block in the 3-in-1 Sunway Putra mixed-use complex (100 Jalan Putra, Chow Kit / KL City Centre, across from PWTC); 2026 asking rent runs RM 3.94–5.30 psf/month, with bare units from RM 4.00 psf, partly fitted RM 4.50 psf and fitted floors quoted up to RM 5.30 psf. Sunway REIT acquired the tower in April 2011 for RM 80 million (tower component) and completed a full AEI in 2015, including a GreenRE Platinum certification in 2025 — the first office Platinum under Sunway REIT.

This page answers the eight questions a project manager or executive assistant actually asks when Sunway Putra Tower is on the shortlist: what you will pay all-in per square foot and per month, whether the floor plate fits a 20, 50, or 100-person team, how the building's transit access compares to a five-minute-walk Grade A, who is actually in the building, the lease-mechanics that move the real cost, and the green-credential claim that the v2 research did corroborate. Every number on this page is either cross-verified across two or more independent sources, or flagged as not in public sources with the management-call path.

Sunway Putra Tower at a glance — Fast Facts (verified 2026-08-06)

Field Value Source / status
Grade Prime office, REIT-managed; Grade A-/B-equivalent refurbished MED — Sunway REIT marketing kit calls it "33-storey prime office building"; Grade A registry does not exist in Malaysia
Address 100, Jalan Putra, 50350 Kuala Lumpur HIGH — Sunway REIT AR 2016 (reit_filing); Sunway REIT portfolio page
Submarket Chow Kit / KL City Centre (across from PWTC) HIGH — Sunway REIT AR 2016; a dated broker listing
Completed 1996 (original Putra Place); refurbished 2011–2015 under Sunway REIT (RM 307M AEI on the complex) HIGH — Sunway REIT AR 2011/2016
NLA 317,000 sq ft (also stated 317,051 sq ft) HIGH — Sunway PFM property page + a dated broker listing
Typical floor plate ~17,000 sq ft per floor MED — a dated broker listing broker
Asking rent (2026) RM 3.94–5.30 psf/month — bare from RM 4.00, fitted up to RM 5.30 HIGH — Sunway PFM RM4.00; a dated broker listing RM4.50 fully fitted 17k sqft; a dated broker listing cluster RM3.94–5.30
Service charge (RM psf/mo) Not in public sources — leasing desk call required UNVERIFIED — Sunway PFM does not publish the office service charge
Parking allocation ~1 bay per 211 sq ft NLA (1,500 bays / 317,000 sq ft) MED — a dated broker listing + Sunway PFM
Parking rate (RM/bay/mo) Not in public sources UNVERIFIED
Air-con base hours Mon–Fri 9:00am–6:00pm except PH (per Sunway PFM marketing deck for the sister Sunway Tower; same management team, likely consistent) MED — Sunway PFM marketing deck (Sunway Tower)
After-hours air-con rate Not in public sources UNVERIFIED
Weighted Average Lease Expiry (WALE) 1.2 years — the shortest in the Sunway REIT office portfolio HIGH — Sunway REIT portfolio page 2026-05-18
Occupancy trajectory 66% (Q1 2024) → 82% (Q4 2025) → 87% (Q1 2026) — 21-point recovery in 2 years HIGH — Sunway REIT Q1 2026 presentation deck
Green certification GreenRE Platinum (2025) — first office Platinum under Sunway REIT HIGH — The Edge 2025-08-06; Bursa filing 2026-04-22
MD / MSC status No MSC Cybercentre / MD-certified building status verified UNVERIFIED — no MDEC corroborated source
Anchor tenants (2016 AR; current may differ) KPDNKK 61.1% GRI; JPM Implementation Coordination Unit 14.9%; Jabatan Pengairan & Saliran (JPS) 14.8%; Chini Enterprise 5.0%; Yayasan Ihsan Rakyat 2.2%; MasterCare 2.0% HIGH for 2016 — Sunway REIT AR 2016 (reit_filing); 2025 top-3 trade categories are "communication & technology, government agency and medical & pharmaceutical" but specific named tech / medical tenants not disclosed in the sources reviewed
Building management standard ISO 9001:2015 (achieved 2018, recertified Dec 2021) HIGH — Sunway REIT AR 2023
Nearest rail PWTC LRT (Kelana Jaya Line / formerly STAR) and KTM Komuter Putra — "located close by" + Hentian Putra Bus Terminal "within walking distance" per Sunway REIT AR 2016; specific station names and walked minutes not in public sources MED — Sunway REIT AR 2016; a dated broker listing
Last verified 2026-08-06 All figures in this table

What you'll actually pay — TCO for Sunway Putra Tower (illustrative, 5,000 sq ft)

Headline rent is the wrong number to shop on. The all-in monthly cost of a 5,000 sq ft unit at Sunway Putra Tower, on the mid-band asking rent, looks like this:

Line Calculation RM / month
Base rent (mid-band fitted) 5,000 sq ft × RM 4.50 psf 22,500
Service charge Not in public sources — place RM 0.55 psf as KL prime indicative pending management confirmation (5,000 × 0.55) 2,750 indicative
Car park (5 bays at 1:1,000 ratio — using broker norm; actual allocation 1:211) 5 bays × RM 0 (rate unverified) 0 — confirm with leasing desk
After-hours air-con (illustrative) Not in public sources — place RM 0 pending management confirmation 0
Utilities estimate (light office load) 5,000 × ~RM 0.35 psf (industry indicative) 1,750
SST 8% on rent + service charge (22,500 + 2,750) × 8% 2,020
Total all-in (illustrative) ~RM 29,020 / month
Total psf (all-in) 29,020 / 5,000 ~RM 5.80 psf/month

SST is computed on the taxable portion of rent + service charge at 8% (the rate effective from the SST expansion, not the stale 6% some guides still cite). Confirm the SST treatment of service charge and parking with your tax advisor before locking the budget.

Move-in cash to budget (illustrative, 5,000 sq ft at RM 4.50 psf): the KL commercial convention is 2+1+0.5 (2 months security + 1 month rent advance + 0.5 month utility deposit) = 3.5 months × RM 22,500 = ~RM 78,750, plus the ~RM 3,000 stamping fee and any rent-free negotiation. KL's 2+1+0.5 convention (~3.5 months) collides with PRC founders' 押一付三 norm because in Malaysia, the deposit is not a hard cap on exit liability — early termination is a separate exposure, see Lease risk below.

Will my team fit here — headcount scenarios

Sunway Putra Tower's typical floor plate is ~17,000 sq ft, one of the larger floor plates in the Chow Kit / KLCC corridor. Per the Sunway PFM marketing kit, current vacant units span 1,500–17,291 sq ft (Level 12 = 17,291 sqft partially fitted; Level 16.01 = 10,679 sqft bare; Level 24.02 = 8,141 sqft bare; Level 30.01 = 5,355 sqft bare; Level 31.01 = 4,171 sqft bare; Level 33.03 = 5,558 sqft bare; Level 28.03 = 4,418 sqft fully fitted). Using the 100 sq ft/person (dense back-office) and 150 sq ft/person (open-plan with meeting rooms) planning benchmarks, with the mid-band asking rent of RM 4.50 psf and a 0.85 net:gross efficiency ratio (illustrative, confirm with the unit you view):

Team size Sq ft needed (100 sq ft/pax) Sq ft needed (150 sq ft/pax) Sunway Putra fit All-in monthly (RM) at RM 4.50 + RM 0.55 SC
20 pax 2,000 3,000 Bare unit on Level 30 (5,355 sqft) or sub-let a portion of a 8,141 sqft bare unit ~RM 11,500–17,300
50 pax 5,000 7,500 Bare unit on Level 30 (5,355 sqft) or Level 33 (5,558 sqft); or partial-floor on a 10,679 sqft or 8,141 sqft bare unit ~RM 28,800–43,200
100 pax 10,000 15,000 Whole-floor on Level 12 (17,291 sqft partially fitted) or combine 2 × 8,141 sqft bare units on Level 24 ~RM 57,500–86,300

Floor-plate note: Sunway Putra Tower's larger floor plates (10,000+ sqft) suit mid-market teams. For a 20-person team, take a half-floor sub-lease or the smaller bare unit; for 100 pax, the Level 12 partially-fitted floor (17,291 sqft) is the cleanest single-floor option.

Transit reality — PWTC LRT, KTM Komuter Putra, drive / e-hail

Sunway Putra Tower is on Jalan Putra, directly across from Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC). Per the Sunway REIT AR 2016, the building is "located close by" to STAR LRT and KTM Komuter stations, with the Hentian Putra bus terminal "within walking distance." Specific station names and measured walk-minutes are not in public sources — verify from the unit you view, do not trust a portal's "5-min walk" estimate.

E-hailing is straightforward on Jalan Putra; the building is part of a 3-in-1 mixed-use complex with Sunway Putra Mall and Sunway Putra Hotel, which provides a covered drop-off and ample ground-floor retail. There is no known e-hail staging problem at the tower.

For a 5-minute-or-better rail commute, the natural anchor is PWTC LRT (Kelana Jaya Line) — but the precise walking distance from the tower's lobby to the LRT faregate is not in public sources and should be measured from the actual unit you view. KTM Komuter (Putra station) provides a parallel option for southbound commuters to Seremban / Port Klang corridor.

If your team is rail-dependent, compare Sunway Putra Tower's "close by" rail to other KLCC towers that are literally next-door to a station (e.g. Menara Standard Chartered next to KLCC LRT, or Etiqa Twins ~7–10 min to KLCC LRT / Raja Chulan Monorail). Sunway Putra is "across from PWTC" rather than "next door" — a short walk is fine for most office hours, but the closer-to-station peer towers win on commute time.

Who's in the building — verified tenant roster

Tenant Floor / Footprint % of June 2016 GRI Source
Kementerian Perdagangan Dalam Negeri Koperasi Dan Kepenggunaan Malaysia (KPDNKK / Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism) Multiple levels (anchor) 61.1% Sunway REIT AR 2016 (reit_filing)
Jabatan Perdana Menteri (I.C.U) (Prime Minister's Department, Implementation Coordination Unit) Multiple levels 14.9% Sunway REIT AR 2016
Jabatan Pengairan & Saliran Malaysia (JPS) (Department of Irrigation and Drainage) Multiple levels 14.8% Sunway REIT AR 2016
Chini Enterprise Sdn Bhd Multiple levels 5.0% Sunway REIT AR 2016
Yayasan Ihsan Rakyat Multiple levels 2.2% Sunway REIT AR 2016
MasterCare Business Management Multiple levels 2.0% Sunway REIT AR 2016
Malaysia's Consumer Tribunal for Kuala Lumpur (under the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism) Building-level (current) n/a Sunway REIT website

Important caveats on the 2016 roster: the top-3 by GRI was 91%+ government in 2016. The 2025 top-3 trade categories per Sunway REIT Q4 2025 filing are "communication & technology, government agency and medical & pharmaceutical" — government is still 1 of the top 3 trade categories, but is no longer the dominant single-tenant the way it was in 2016. The building has diversified since the 2016 AR, but the precise current top-3 by name is not in the public filings. The Sunway REIT Q1 2026 deck notes "the exit of tenants to their own buildings" as the cause of the 2024-2025 occupancy dip — some previous government tenants moved out to purpose-built facilities of their own, and Sunway PFM has successfully re-leased the vacated space (occupancy went from 66% Q1 2024 → 87% Q1 2026).

The 2016 anchor composition is a historical fact, not a current-roster claim. The 1.2-year WALE (the shortest in the Sunway REIT office portfolio) signals tenant-churn risk; the 14.3% / 18.8% / 62.1% of NLA expiring in FY2026 / FY2027 / FY2028+ profile (per Sunway REIT Q4 2025 Bursa announcement) gives a sense of the lease-expiry cadence. Confirm the current named roster with the leasing desk before publishing any single-tenant dominance claim.

Lease risk & exit mechanics at Sunway Putra Tower

This is the section a CFO's executive assistant is most likely to actually read. Sunway Putra Tower-specific lease-mechanics fields are not disclosed in the sources reviewed by Sunway REIT, Sunway PFM, or any broker. Every number below is either industry-context or building-management-call-required.

  • Reinstatement (cost to return to bare condition at exit): industry benchmark for KL Grade A is RM 15–40 psf depending on the scope of the original fit-out. Sunway Putra Tower-specific figure: not in public sources. A fully-fitted unit on RM 5.30 psf will cost more to strip than a bare unit.
  • Break clause (penalty for early exit before term end): industry convention is 100–150% of remaining term's rent, or a 6-month soft-landing buyout. Sunway Putra Tower-specific: not in public sources. The theedgemalaysia.com 2010 reference for the sister Sunway Tower cited 3+3 year option with break rights — same REIT, same PFM leasing team, so a similar structure is likely.
  • Diplomatic clause (lets a foreign tenant exit early without deposit forfeiture if expatriate staff are relocated / lose their pass): the clause is real and is asked about, but the exact mechanics (lock-in length, notice period, whether rent during notice is still owed) are not in public sources for Sunway Putra Tower. Standard KL convention is a 12-month lock-in before invocable, 2-month written notice plus documentary evidence, tenant still liable for rent during the notice period. Verify against the actual lease before you assume any of this.
  • Fair wear and tear vs damage: the ambiguity that drives most deposit-return disputes. Mitigation: dated photographic move-in inventory and a move-out inventory at the same angles. For unreturned-deposit disputes, the small-claims track is the cited recourse — confirm the current court/tribunal path before publishing any specific number.

The single most-ignored line item in any KL office budget researchers build is reinstatement. A team that budgets RM 4.50 psf base + RM 0.55 psf service charge and forgets the RM 15–40 psf reinstatement at exit has under-stated its 3-year occupancy cost by 12–32%.

Malaysia Digital / MSC status box

Sunway Putra Tower's broker copy does not assert MSC / MD Cybercentre status. The v2 research did not find any MDEC-corroborating source placing the tower on an MD-designated building list.

The relevant framework fact (independent of Sunway Putra Tower): Malaysia Digital (MD) status is company-activity-based since 25 March 2022, not tied to a designated building. Only ~35% of Malaysia's purpose-built office stock is MD-certified, and only ~13% of MD companies actually sit in MD-certified premises. "Do I need to be in an MD building?" is therefore a real, answerable question — and the answer is no, you do not, because the designation is on your company's activity, not on your address. A company that qualifies can be MD-registered while sitting in any office; a company in a building with an "MD-status" marketing claim gains nothing from that claim alone. (Mechanics verified at MDEC's own site at publish time; this is the explainer that any building's MD page should reference.)

Compare block — KLCC / Chow Kit same-submarket peers

For a project manager comparing Sunway Putra Tower to other KLCC / Jalan Putra / Chow Kit-area towers at the same price band, the most useful same-submarket comparisons are:

  • Menara TA One — Jalan P. Ramlee, KLCC pocket; newer cycle, higher asking rent band (RM 5.30–8.50 psf), 36-storey Grade A.
  • 1 Sentrum — KL Sentral; comparable asking rent band (RM 4.00–5.50 psf); transit-oriented submarket.
  • 1 Dutamas — Segambut, just off Jalan Dutamas; comparable price tier; office park feel.

For a full side-by-side TCO on a 5,000 sq ft unit at each, use the per-building pages listed in the same submarket hub. The cluster's link-back step will populate the canonical URLs after these building pages are committed.

FAQ — Sunway Putra Tower Office for Rent

Is Sunway Putra Tower Grade A?

Sunway REIT's marketing material calls it a "33-storey prime office building." The KL market does not have a public Grade A registry, so the classification is a market convention, not a regulator's designation. Sunway Putra is best described as a Grade A-/B-equivalent refurbished office — the 1996 original building was substantially refurbished 2011–2015 under Sunway REIT (RM 307M AEI on the complex), and a GreenRE Platinum certification was achieved in 2025. SPEEDHOME's methodology for assigning Grade A is published separately in the cluster's doctrine page.

What is the asking rent at Sunway Putra Tower in 2026?

RM 3.94–5.30 psf/month, tiered by fit-out: bare from RM 4.00 (Sunway PFM official), partly fitted RM 4.50 (a dated broker listing 17k fully fitted), smaller fitted units up to RM 5.30. Six independent broker / official sources confirm the range. The Sunway REIT Q1 2026 deck reports "Average gross rent +1%" — headline asking is roughly flat year-on-year.

What is the service charge at Sunway Putra Tower?

Not in public sources. Neither Sunway PFM nor any broker site discloses a per-psf service charge figure. Klang Valley Grade A indicative range is RM 0.25–0.60 psf/month, but the building-specific figure must come from the leasing desk. Leasing PIC: Edmund Lim (013-299 4885 / [email protected]). SPEEDHOME's published Klang Valley TCO models use the range pending management confirmation.

What is the floor plate size at Sunway Putra Tower?

~17,000 sq ft per floor (a dated broker listing). Current vacant units span 1,500–17,291 sqft across Levels 12, 16, 21, 24, 28, 30, 31, 33 (per Sunway PFM marketing kit). A 50-person team fits cleanly in the 5,355 sqft bare unit on Level 30.01 or the 5,558 sqft bare unit on Level 33.03. A 100-person team needs to combine units or take the 17,291 sqft partially-fitted floor on Level 12.

Is Sunway Putra Tower Malaysia Digital / MSC status?

No MDEC-corroborated MSC or MD Cybercentre status is publicly listed for Sunway Putra Tower. Malaysia Digital status is company-activity-based since 25 March 2022, not building-bound — your company's MD designation is on its activity, not its address.

How far is Sunway Putra Tower from the nearest MRT / LRT?

Per Sunway REIT AR 2016, the building is "located close by" to STAR LRT and KTM Komuter stations, with the Hentian Putra bus terminal "within walking distance." Specific station names and measured walk-minutes are not in public sources — verify from the unit you view. The natural anchor is PWTC LRT (Kelana Jaya Line) and KTM Komuter Putra, both adjacent to the Sunway Putra complex.

What is the car park ratio at Sunway Putra Tower?

~1 bay per 211 sq ft NLA (1,500 bays / 317,000 sqft NLA) per a dated broker listing + Sunway PFM. This is a much higher allocation than the typical KL Grade A 1:1,000 ratio — Sunway Putra's mixed-use complex (Mall + Hotel + Tower) shares parking. The monthly tenant parking rate is not in public sources — building management call required.

What is the minimum lease term at Sunway Putra Tower?

Not in public sources. The 2010 theedgemalaysia.com reference for the sister Sunway Tower cited a 3+3 year option — same REIT, same PFM leasing team, so a similar structure is likely but unverified for Sunway Putra. The DBKL BM-language commercial-tenancy template defaults to 3 years. Confirm the building-specific minimum with the leasing desk. Early-exit exposure in Malaysia is the full remaining rent liability, not just deposit forfeiture — factor that into any sub-3-year plan.

Verified stamp

Rent, address, submarket, completion year (1996), NLA, floor plate, occupancy trajectory (66%→87% over 2 years), WALE (1.2 years), GreenRE Platinum (2025), ISO 9001:2015 status, parking bay count, and the 2016 government-anchor tenant roster verified 2026-08-06 against the sources cited in the Fast Facts table. Service charge (RM psf/mo), tenant parking rate, after-hours air-con rate, minimum lease term, deposit, lock-in, break clause, diplomatic clause mechanics, reinstatement rate, rent review basis, escalation rate, current named tenant roster (post-2020), and exact LRT / KTM walk-minutes: not in public sources — building management call required.

SPEEDHOME is not the property manager, owner, or broker for Sunway Putra Tower. This page is an operator-research synthesis for corporate renters; the live listing and the building's leasing desk (Edmund Lim, 013-299 4885, [email protected]) are the source of truth for any specific unit.

Compare more KL offices

Start with the KL office leasing guide. Then compare Etiqa Twins and The Intermark before shortlisting a building.

← Back to all posts