Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163 in one paragraph
Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163 is a strata-titled SOVO (Small Office Versatile Office) tower at 8 Jalan Kiara, Mont Kiara, 50480 Kuala Lumpur — part of the integrated Kiara 163 development (YNH Property Berhad master developer; podium mall now Sunway 163 Mall after Sunway REIT's RM 215 million acquisition in 2024). It is not a single-landlord purpose-built Grade A office: individual SOVO units (Standard 620–1,028 sf, Duplex Penthouse 1,228–2,058 sf) are independently owned and leased. Across 8 verified broker listings, asking rent spans RM 2.40–9.21 psf (median ~RM 4.84, mean ~RM 5.05), with service charge ~RM 0.55 psf (incl. sinking fund) per a dated broker listing's a dated broker listing @ Kiara 163 review. No rail station is walkable today; the future MRT 3 Circle Line "Mont Kiara" station is planned on Jalan Kiara 4 immediately adjacent. YNH Property's flagship Menara YNH (a separate, future JV with CapitaLand at Jalan Ampang / Jalan Sultan Ismail) is a different building — do not conflate. (Source: a dated broker listing (Kristing, CH Ng, John Lam, 2026); a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; Sunway REIT 2024 acquisition circular; YNH 2024 circular; all accessed 2026-08-06.)
Building-form caveat (must read): Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163 is a strata SOVO tower with individual unit ownership, not a single-landlord Grade A purpose-built office. The "asking rent" range is unusually wide because each unit is independently priced by its owner. If you are a 100+ pax team looking for a single contiguous block under one landlord, Wisma YNH is structurally the wrong product — look at Menara YNH (different building) or a Grade A tower instead. Wisma YNH is the right product for SMEs, satellite offices, regional back-offices, and PRC/SG/SG-headquartered expansion teams (Geoharbour Singapore Branch is already there).
Fast Facts — Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163
| Field | Value | Source / last verified |
|---|---|---|
| Grade (A/B) + basis | No formal Grade A/B label found in public sources. Brokers position Wisma YNH as "above mall, SOVO office" without invoking a grade classification. Not a Grade A building by standard classification. | a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| Completed / major refurb | June 2017 (a dated broker listing — most-cited date; consistent with 163 Retail Park 2018 completion). a dated broker listing lists 2019 (likely SOVO sales start, not CF). | a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| NLA + typical floor plate | ~175,000 sq ft office tower NLA (per a dated broker listing). ~13 units per floor; Standard 620–1,028 sf, Duplex Penthouse 1,228–2,058 sf. Typical floor plate ~10,000–15,000 sf depending on mix. | a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| Efficiency (net:gross) | Not in public sources. Building management call required. | — |
| Asking rent (gross/net flagged) | RM 2.40–9.21 psf (8 verified broker listings). Median ~RM 4.84 psf, mean ~RM 5.05 psf. Wide range driven by unit size, furnishing, duplex-vs-standard, view, individual landlord pricing. | a dated broker listing (Kristing, CH Ng, John Lam); a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing Mont Kiara aggregator, 2026-08-06 |
| Asking vs effective rent spread | Not in public sources. Effective rent is a deal-by-deal figure; strata SOVO has no published effective-rent table. | — |
| Service charge (RM psf/mo) | ~RM 0.55 psf (incl. sinking fund) per a dated broker listing's a dated broker listing @ Kiara 163 review. a dated broker listing lists 0.35 psf; a dated broker listing user reports 0.62 psf for a similar SOVO/shoplot mix in Shah Alam. Wide variance — JMB/MC call required for a firm SOVO-specific number. | a dated broker listing review; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| Car park (bay ratio, rate, visitor rate) | 1–2 bays per unit (a dated broker listing, SOVO strata scheme). 4-storey basement + 6-storey multi-storey car park (a dated broker listing). Monthly rate per bay: not in public sources; KL strata office norm RM 150–300/bay/mo (e.g. Star Residences @ KLCC RM 250–350/mo). | a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| After-hours air-con rate | Not in public sources. Building management call required. | — |
| MD / Malaysia Digital status | Unverified / unlikely. No public source confirms or denies MSC status for Wisma YNH SOVO. Mont Kiara is not a designated MSC zone (Cyberjaya, KLCC, Putrajaya are the main MSC zones); therefore MSC status is unlikely but not authoritatively ruled out. | — |
| Green cert (GBI/LEED/GreenMark) | None found in public sources — no GBI / LEED / GreenRE / GreenMark claim for Wisma YNH SOVO. | — |
| Anchor tenants / tenant roster | No single anchor office tenant (strata SOVO). Verified named tenants: Shanghai Geoharbour Construction Group (Singapore Branch) at S-27-08; Lavania & Balan Chambers (law firm) at S-21-01; Firmus at S-26-02; Chafyst Brillante Sdn Bhd at S-23A-03; SEATCORP (office furniture); Hello Billionaires Sdn Bhd (HBSB); unnamed health and nutrition company (1,228 sf duplex, tenanted to 2026 at RM4,600/mo). YNH Property Berhad's own registered HQ is at S26-A-01, Level 26 (developer address, not paying tenant). Jaya Grocer anchors the integrated retail podium (Sunway 163 Mall) — separate from the office tower proper. | JobStreet; LinkedIn; GoodFirms; SignalHire; a dated broker listing (John Lam); YNH 2024 circular; Sunway REIT 2024 acquisition circular, 2026-08-06 |
| Nearest rail + measured walk time | Sri Hartamas MRT (MRT Putrajaya Line / Line 2) is the nearest operational rail but is across the Sprint Expressway from Mont Kiara proper — not walkable. Future MRT 3 Circle Line "Mont Kiara" station is planned on Jalan Kiara 4 (between Vista Kiara / Residensi 22 and Kiara 163 / Ooak / Arcoris) but not yet operational. Shoplex Mont Kiara bus stop is 86 m / 2 min walk. | forum.a dated broker listing.net; mymrt.com.my MRT 3 station map; Moovit, 2026-08-06 |
| Backup power / carrier neutrality | Not in public sources. Building management call required. | — |
| Last verified | 2026-08-06 (a dated broker listing 8 listings; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; Sunway REIT 2024 acquisition circular; YNH 2024 circular) | — |
What you'll actually pay (TCO) — Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163
5,000 sq ft example (not realistic as a single unit — Wisma YNH SOVO unit sizes top out at 2,058 sf; this is a multi-unit aggregation, treated as 2,058 sf duplex × 2 + 884 sf standard):
| Line | RM psf/mo | RM/month | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base rent (median) | 4.84 | 24,200 | 8-listing median across verified broker ads; duplex units 1,348 sf at RM 7,000/mo (RM 5.19 psf) is the closest analogue. |
| Base rent (lower band, 1,028 sf partially-furnished) | 4.38 | 21,900 | a dated broker listing Kristing 2026-07-24 listing. |
| Base rent (upper band, 1,228 sf duplex tenanted) | 3.75 | 18,750 | a dated broker listing John Lam sale listing — same unit tenanted until 2026. |
| Service charge (incl. sinking fund) | 0.55 | 2,750 | a dated broker listing @ Kiara 163 review (most-cited SOVO figure; verify via JMB/MC). |
| Car park (3 bays at unknown rate) | n/a | — | 3 bays × RM ??? /mo. Rate not disclosed in the sources reviewed. KL strata office norm RM 150–300/bay/mo. |
| After-hours AC, est. 20 hrs/month | n/a | — | not disclosed in the sources reviewed. |
| Utilities estimate | ~0.50–0.60 | 2,500–3,000 | Mont Kiara SOVO typical; not Wisma YNH-verified. |
| SST 8% on base rent (if landlord is registered) | 0.39 | 1,940 | Service Tax Order 2018, 8% rate. |
| Total RM psf/mo (median, ex-parking, ex-after-hours AC) | ~6.30 | ~31,490 | Parking and after-hours AC are the two missing lines. |
Upfront cash (rough order, on a 1,348 sf duplex at RM 4.84 psf median, assuming 2+0.5+1 KL SOVO market norm): - 2 months security + 0.5 month utility + 1 month advance = 3.5 months of gross rent - ≈ RM 22,800 deposit on a 1,348 sf unit at RM 7,000/mo + RM 1,500–2,000 stamping fee (RM 3 per RM 250 of annual rent, ad valorem) - Plus first-month parking (rate not published) and 1-month fit-out deposit (if bare)
These are market-norm proxies, not Wisma YNH-confirmed numbers. The deposit structure, lock-in, and break clause terms are negotiated per individual owner; a Letter of Offer is the only place they get pinned down.
Why the TCO varies so widely: The 8-listing asking-rent range (RM 2.40–9.21 psf) is real — and it's because each unit is independently owned and priced. A 1,028 sf partially-furnished unit at RM 4.38 psf and a fully-furnished 678 sf corner unit at RM 5.60 psf are both legitimate 2026 listings. Get the specific unit's number before any TCO calculation; the building-level "RM 4.84 median" is a guide, not a quote.
Will my team fit here?
Worked from ~10,000–15,000 sf typical floor plate (13 units per floor at 620–2,058 sf mix) and ~175,000 sf office tower NLA:
| Headcount | Space needed @ 100 sq ft/pax (dense) | Space needed @ 150 sq ft/pax (standard) | Floors at this building | All-in monthly cost* |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 pax | 2,000 sf | 3,000 sf | Sub-floor; 2–4 standard units (1,028 sf ea) | RM 9,000–18,000 base rent + SC (RM 0.55 psf) |
| 50 pax | 5,000 sf | 7,500 sf | Half a floor; 4–8 standard units + duplex | RM 22,500–45,000 base rent + SC |
| 100 pax | 10,000 sf | 15,000 sf | One full floor (assemble contiguous units from same floor) | RM 45,000–90,000 base rent + SC |
| 200 pax | 20,000 sf | 30,000 sf | 2 contiguous floors — structurally difficult as a single-tenant lease across individually-owned SOVO units | RM 90,000–180,000 base rent + SC |
*All-in cost = base rent at RM 4.84 psf median; service charge RM 0.55 psf; parking and after-hours AC are the two unverified lines.
200 pax is the practical ceiling. Wisma YNH is structurally a strata SOVO: any contiguous block above ~15,000 sf requires assembling units from multiple individual owners, and the largest single unit is the 2,058 sf duplex penthouse. For a 200+ pax team, look at a Grade A single-landlord tower (Menara YNH on Jalan Sultan Ismail, Menara KL Sentral, or a TRX tower) instead.
Transit reality
Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163 is not walkable to any operational rail station. Sri Hartamas MRT (MRT Putrajaya Line / Line 2) is the nearest operational rail but is across the Sprint Expressway from Mont Kiara proper; the walk requires a major road crossing. The future MRT 3 Circle Line "Mont Kiara" station is planned on Jalan Kiara 4, immediately adjacent to Kiara 163 / Ooak / Arcoris, but is not yet operational at time of research. (Source: forum.a dated broker listing.net; mymrt.com.my MRT 3 station map, 2026-08-06.)
Bus feeder routes serving Kiara 163: T852 (MRT Semantan ↔ Mont Kiara), T818 (Desa Sri Hartamas ↔ MRT Semantan), 190 (LRT Masjid Jamek ↔ Mont Kiara area). The Shoplex Mont Kiara bus stop is 86 m / 2 min walk; Plaza Crystelville bus stop 530 m / 8 min walk. E-hail (Grab) is the dominant commute mode for the Mont Kiara office workforce; weekday-morning peak often sees Grab surge on KL-bound routes. Driving access is via the Sprint Expressway / Jalan Duta / Penchala Link corridors.
Who's in the building
Wisma YNH is functionally a multi-tenant strata SOVO with no single anchor office occupier. Seven named tenants verified:
- Shanghai Geoharbour Construction Group Co., Ltd. (Singapore Branch) — Unit S-27-08. SG-headquartered construction group operating its Malaysian operations from Wisma YNH. Confirmed by JobStreet company profile; same registered address also on EMIS for Geoharbour Sdn Bhd (Malaysia).
- Lavania & Balan Chambers (law firm) — S-21-01. Confirmed by LinkedIn company page; "Chambers" naming and S-21 unit suggest a small but established legal practice.
- Firmus — S-26-02. Confirmed by GoodFirms; tech/IT services firm.
- Chafyst Brillante Sdn Bhd — Unit S-23A-03. Confirmed by SignalHire.
- SEATCORP (Office Furniture and Fixtures Manufacturing) — Wisma YNH, Kiara 163. Confirmed by LinkedIn.
- Hello Billionaires Sdn Bhd (HBSB) — Wisma YNH, Jalan Kiara. Confirmed by LinkedIn.
- Unnamed Health and Nutrition Company — 1,228 sf duplex unit, tenanted until 2026 at RM4,600/mo (~$3.75 psf). Confirmed by a dated broker listing sale listing (John Lam).
YNH Property Berhad's own registered HQ is at S26-A-01, Level 26, Wisma YNH (SOVO), Kiara 163 (YNH 2024 circular) — the developer/master-developer's registered address within the same development, not a paying tenant.
Integrated retail podium anchor (separate from office tower): Jaya Grocer is the main anchor of 163 Retail Park / Sunway 163 Mall (the integrated retail podium sold to Sunway REIT for RM 215 million in 2024). The mall has 100+ tenants including cinema, ice-skating rink, F&B (Bisou Bake Shop, Kenny Hills Coffee, Ichiban Ramen, Madam Kwan's, etc.). This is the "amenity cluster" that makes Wisma YNH attractive to small-business tenants — staff can eat, shop, and (separately) live in Ooak Residences / Ooak Suites Hotel without driving.
Lease risk & exit mechanics
Four questions, each answered first with what the public record shows (or doesn't):
- Reinstatement — Not in public sources. Building management call required. SOVO bare units typically require tenant to reinstate to original condition on exit; cost is borne by tenant per KL strata norm. The KL PBO market norm is RM 30–80 psf basic / RM 100–200 psf mid-range; this is a market proxy, not Wisma YNH-specific.
- Break clause — Not in public sources. Building management call required. The default for Malaysian commercial strata is 2 months' notice + 2–3 months' rent penalty if early termination; the Wisma YNH-specific wording is negotiated per landlord.
- Diplomatic clause — Not in public sources. Building management call required. The 3ecpa.com.my Malaysian Office Leasing Guide describes a foreign-tenant diplomatic clause as standard practice (3-month notice + supporting evidence); ExpatGo 2026 cites a "12+2 month" framework for relocation-triggered exit. Wisma YNH's specific wording is not disclosed in the sources reviewed and is negotiated per landlord.
- Fair wear and tear vs damage — Not in public sources. Building management call required. Standard KL PBO practice is a move-in/move-out inventory with photographs; deposit-refund disputes are common. The contract is the only protection — there is no general Malaysian tenancy act with a deposit cap.
For unreturned-deposit disputes, the small-claims track (no lawyers either side) is the cited recourse. Verify the current court/tribunal path before relying on it.
SOVO-specific lease risk: The strata SOVO structure means each individual landlord sets their own terms. A lease at Wisma YNH is not a lease of "the building" — it is a lease of one unit from one owner, with all the leverage asymmetry that implies. Read the actual tenancy agreement; do not assume "SOVO = more flexible" without reading the small print.
Malaysia Digital (MD/MSC) status box
Verified building-level fact: No public source confirms or denies MSC status for Wisma YNH SOVO. Mont Kiara is not a designated MSC zone (Cyberjaya, KLCC, Putrajaya are the main MSC zones); therefore MSC status is unlikely but not authoritatively ruled out.
The bigger picture (one-time explainer, not building-specific): MD status since 25 March 2022 is company-activity-based, not tied to a designated building. Only ~35% of Malaysia's purpose-built office stock is MD-certified, and only ~13% of MD companies actually sit in MD-certified premises — so "do I need to be in an MD building" is a misframed question. The MD designation now follows the company, not the address. A foreign services company in Wisma YNH can still apply for MD status based on its own activity, headcount, and paid-up capital, regardless of the building.
For an MD company, the typical physical-operations asks are: ≥2 full-time knowledge workers, ≥RM 5,000 average monthly salary, ≥RM 50,000 annual opex, RM 1,080 non-refundable processing fee. These thresholds change on a budget cycle — verify the current figure against MDEC's own site before relying on it.
Compare block — 3 same-submarket peers (Mont Kiara / Sri Hartamas fringe, SOVO-to-mid-tier, ≤ RM 7 psf, 2010–2018 vintage)
| Peer | Asking rent (RM psf/mo) | Year | Submarket | Why it compares to Wisma YNH |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plaza Mont Kiara (SOVO / serviced suites) | RM 3.50–5.00 (broker ads) | 2014 | Mont Kiara | Same Mont Kiara submarket, similar 2010s vintage, similar SOVO/strata office positioning, comparable asking band. |
| Arcoris Mont Kiara (integrated SOVO) | RM 3.80–5.50 (broker ads) | 2015 | Mont Kiara | Same Mont Kiara submarket, integrated mixed-use development, similar SOVO/strata structure, comparable asking band. |
| 1 Mont Kiara (MK1) (SOVO / office suites) | RM 3.50–5.20 (broker ads) | 2012 | Mont Kiara | Same Mont Kiara submarket, similar SOVO/strata office structure, near-identical asking band, walkable to future MRT 3 Mont Kiara station. |
These three sit within the same RM 3.50–5.50 psf band as Wisma YNH, all in the Mont Kiara / Sri Hartamas fringe, all 2010s-vintage SOVO or strata office structures. The cluster will auto-link these to a live comparison page when their individual building pages publish.
FAQ — Wisma YNH @ Kiara 163
Is Wisma YNH Malaysia Digital / MSC status?
Unverified and unlikely. No public source confirms or denies MSC status; Mont Kiara is not a designated MSC zone. MD status since March 2022 is company-activity-based, not building-bound; an MD-eligible company in Wisma YNH can apply based on its own activity, headcount, and paid-up capital.
What is the service charge at Wisma YNH?
~RM 0.55 psf (incl. sinking fund) per a dated broker listing's a dated broker listing @ Kiara 163 review. a dated broker listing lists 0.35 psf; a dated broker listing user reports 0.62 psf for a similar SOVO/shoplot mix. The variance means a JMB/MC call is required for a firm SOVO-specific number.
How much is a 1,348 sf duplex office at Wisma YNH per month?
At the RM 5.19 psf Kristing 2026 listing, base rent is RM 7,000/month; with SC at RM 0.55 psf (RM 740/mo) and SST 8% (RM 560/mo), all-in approximately RM 8,300/month before parking and after-hours AC.
What is the floor plate size at Wisma YNH?
~13 units per floor, unit sizes Standard 620–1,028 sf, Duplex Penthouse 1,228–2,058 sf. Typical floor plate ~10,000–15,000 sf depending on unit mix. Total office tower NLA ~175,000 sf (a dated broker listing).
Is Wisma YNH green certified?
No. No GBI, LEED, GreenRE, or GreenMark certification has been published for Wisma YNH SOVO.
How far is Wisma YNH from the nearest MRT/LRT?
Not walkable to operational rail today. Sri Hartamas MRT (MRT Putrajaya Line / Line 2) is the nearest operational rail but is across the Sprint Expressway. The future MRT 3 Circle Line "Mont Kiara" station is planned on Jalan Kiara 4 (immediately adjacent) but is not yet operational.
What is the car park ratio at Wisma YNH?
1–2 bays per SOVO unit (a dated broker listing). 4-storey basement + 6-storey multi-storey car park (a dated broker listing). Monthly rate per bay is not disclosed in the sources reviewed; KL strata office norm is RM 150–300/bay/mo.
What is the minimum lease term at Wisma YNH?
1 year is the KL strata SOVO norm (a dated broker listing 2026). Wave-1 a dated broker listing listings on 658 sf units market as "now ready for Rent" reflect 1-year minimums. The Wisma YNH-specific minimum is not published; each individual owner sets their own term.
Does Wisma YNH's landlord accept a diplomatic clause for foreign tenants?
Not in public sources. Building management call required. The ExpatGo 2026 "12+2 month" framework for relocation-triggered exit is a market reference; Wisma YNH's specific wording is negotiated per landlord.
What is the reinstatement cost at lease exit at Wisma YNH?
Not in public sources. Building management call required. SOVO bare units typically require tenant to reinstate to original condition on exit; the KL PBO market norm is RM 30–80 psf basic / RM 100–200 psf mid-range.
Verified stamp
Asking rent, service charge (SOVO-portion), unit-size mix, parking allocation, named tenants, completion year, and integrated-development context verified 2026-08-06 by SPEEDHOME, against a dated broker listing (Kristing, CH Ng, John Lam 2026 listings); a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; a dated broker listing; Sunway REIT 2024 acquisition circular; YNH 2024 circular; JobStreet; LinkedIn; GoodFirms; SignalHire; mymrt.com.my MRT 3 station map; Moovit. Parking rate per bay, after-hours AC rate, minimum lease term, deposit structure, lock-in, break clause, diplomatic clause, reinstatement cost, fit-out period, MD/MSC status, grade label, and green certification are not in public sources; JMB/MC and individual landlord call required.
Compare more KL offices
Start with the KL office leasing guide. Then compare Menara 1 Dutamas and Kiaramas Gateway before shortlisting a building.
