Plaza 33 (Petaling Jaya Section 13) for rent in 2026: what you'll actually pay
Plaza 33 is a 2013-completed Grade A twin-tower office (22-storey per CBD.my / Investing-Malaysia original building brochure; 14-storey per older a dated broker listing/a dated broker listing) with 513,904 sq ft total office built-up, MSC Cybercentre designation, and asking rent RM 5.50–7.50 psf/month (verified 2026-08-06); it is the Phase 2 office extension of the integrated PJ33 (formerly Jaya 33) campus managed by Pelaburan Hartanah Berhad (PHB), with Asia Jaya LRT (Kelana Jaya Line) 15 minutes' walk via the T786 feeder bus.
Fast facts: Plaza 33 (PJ Section 13)
| Field | Value | Source / Date |
|---|---|---|
| Grade | A (JLL, a dated broker listing, cbd.my, getcommercialproperty all classify as Grade A) | JLL / a dated broker listing / cbd.my, 2026-08-06 |
| Completed | Early 2013 (architect: Archimatrix) | Archimatrix project page, 2026-08-06 |
| NLA | 513,904 sq ft total office built-up across two towers (getcommercialproperty); alternates: 300,000 sqft across 3 blocks of 5-storey (JLL describes retail+podium, not 2 office towers) | getcommercialproperty, 2026-08-06 |
| Typical floor plate | ~17,000 sq ft lettable (17,100 sqft per cbd.my, 17,265 sqft per CBD listing) | cbd.my, 2026-08-06 |
| Asking rent | RM 5.50–7.50 psf/mo (RM 5.50 CBD.my 17,265 sqft; RM 5.50–6.50 a dated broker listing/a dated broker listing; RM 6.50 a dated broker listing BM 8,370 sqft fully fitted Feb 2026; RM 7.50 JLL Tower A 9,357–13,240 sqft fully fitted) | cbd.my / a dated broker listing / JLL, 2026-08-06 |
| Service charge | not disclosed in the sources reviewed in any psf figure — PHB management call required | — |
| Parking | 1 bay per 1,000 sq ft (cbd.my + a dated broker listing); 1,244 bays total; season RM 200/bay/mo; reserved RM 300/bay/mo; visitor RM 3.30–5.00/hr, max RM 61.40/day | cbd.my / a dated broker listing / a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| AC OT | not disclosed in the sources reviewed — a dated broker listing notes AC is "centralised with tenant own control" (i.e. tenant-metered, no separate building OT fee) | a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| MD/MSC status | MSC Cybercentre (Tier 1 per cbd.my) — verified | cbd.my, 2026-08-06 |
| Green cert | GBI-certified (Green Building Index); widely reported as LEED Gold | cbd.my / getcommercialproperty, 2026-08-06 |
| Anchor tenants (campus cluster) | Panasonic, Novartis, Sanofi, AIA, Schneider Electric, The Nielsen Company, Global Enterprise International Malaysia (Singtel Group) — Section 13 campus cluster (PJ33 + Plaza 33); specific Tower A vs Tower B + floor allocations not disclosed in the sources reviewed | TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06 |
| Nearest rail | Asia Jaya LRT (Kelana Jaya Line) — official Plaza 33 site states "15 mins walk" to LRT Asia Jaya via T786 feeder bus; feeder bus T786 to LRT Asia Jaya, Seksyen 11, 12 PJ; PJ01 to Taman Medan, LRT Asia Jaya, LRT Taman Jaya; bus 780 to Pasar Seni hub; train every 20 min | Plaza 33 official site, 2026-08-06 |
| Tenure | Freehold | a dated broker listing BM listing, 2026-08-06 |
| Asset manager | Pelaburan Hartanah Berhad (PHB) | PHB property page, 2026-08-06 |
| Developer | Plaza 33 Sdn Bhd (sister of Jaya 33 Sdn Bhd, who developed PJ33 across the road) | a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| Verified date | 2026-08-06 | This page |
What you'll actually pay: 5,000 sq ft TCO at Plaza 33
A 5,000 sq ft unit at Plaza 33 at the central-tendency RM 5.50 psf costs approximately RM 27,500/month in base rent — at the lower end of the Grade A PJ band but still ~20% above the Knight Frank Q1 2025 PJ submarket average of RM 4.56 psf, reflecting the Grade A premium and the MSC Cybercentre designation. The all-in TCO at 5,000 sq ft:
| Line item | RM / month | RM psf/mo | Source / Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base rent (5,000 sf × RM 5.50 psf) | 27,500 | 5.50 | cbd.my / a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| Service charge | not itemised in the sources reviewed — PHB call required (PJ Section 13 Grade A market norm ~RM 0.60-0.85 psf) | — | — |
| Car park (5 bays × RM 200/mo season, per 1:1,000 sf ratio) | 1,000 | 0.20 | cbd.my / a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06 |
| AC OT (estimate 30 hr/mo — tenant-metered, so TNB tariff proxy) | 2,500 | 0.50 | a dated broker listing "centralised with tenant own control" + TNB C1 tariff proxy |
| Utilities (estimate; chilled water + electricity + cleaning) | 2,500 | 0.50 | Tenant-reported PJ Grade A norm |
| Sub-total before tax | ~33,500 | ~6.70 | — |
| SST 8% on rent + service charge portion (assume service charge RM 0.75 psf placeholder) | ~2,500 | ~0.50 | LHDN SST Order 2025 — 8% expanded scope from 1 Jul 2025 |
| Total all-in (estimated) | ~36,000 | ~7.20 | — |
For 5,000 sq ft at Plaza 33, expect a true first-month occupancy cost of approximately RM 36,000 at the central-tendency asking rent — about 31% above the headline RM 27,500 base rent once service charge, parking, AC OT, utilities and SST 8% are added. The single biggest unknown is the per-psf service charge — PHB does not publish a per-psf figure; PJ Section 13 Grade A norm is ~RM 0.60–0.85 psf. A JLL-listed fully-fitted unit at RM 7.50 psf would push the all-in closer to RM 45,000–46,000/month for 5,000 sq ft — the same headline-rent gap, but for a turnkey fit-out with the meeting rooms, partitions and pantry already in.
Will my team fit at Plaza 33? Three headcount scenarios
Plaza 33's ~17,000 sq ft floor plates are the largest in this wave's three buildings — sized for mid-market and larger tenants, with full-floor and half-floor subdivisions per a dated broker listing (half floor basic 8,056 sf; full floor basic 16,001 sf; half floor fitted 9,107 sf; full floor fitted 13,240 sf and 17,130 sf). Three worked scenarios at RM 5.50 psf base rent + estimated 0.75 psf service charge + 1 bay per 1,000 sf parking:
- 20 pax (lean 100 sf/person = 2,000 sf): a 1/8-floor subdivision; rent RM 11,000/mo, all-in ~RM 14,400/mo. The smallest bare units in active listings cluster in this range.
- 50 pax (standard 150 sf/person = 7,500 sf): a half-floor (8,056 sf basic or 9,107 sf fitted); rent RM 41,250/mo, all-in ~RM 54,000/mo. a dated broker listing has 8,370 sqft fully fitted units at RM 6.50 psf in active listings (Feb 2026).
- 100 pax (standard 150 sf/person = 15,000 sf): a full floor (16,001 sf basic or 13,240 sf fitted); rent RM 82,500/mo, all-in ~RM 108,000/mo. The a dated broker listing Jul 2026 listing of 16,001 sf full-floor MSC + ESG-compliant unit at RM 88,000/mo (RM 5.50 psf) confirms full-floor take-up is actively marketed at Plaza 33.
The full-floor + MSC + ESG-compliant combination at the 16,001 sf band is Plaza 33's most distinctive value proposition for a regional HQ tenant — the MSC Cybercentre designation gives the tenant a defensible tax-incentive story (for technology / digital sector tenants who qualify), and the GBI + LEED Gold green certs support a corporate ESG narrative for a regional or global tenant.
Transit reality at Plaza 33
Plaza 33 sits on Jalan Kemajuan, Seksyen 13, Petaling Jaya (at the Jalan Kemajuan / Jalan Semangat junction), with Asia Jaya LRT (Kelana Jaya Line) a 15-minute walk away per the Plaza 33 official site, or shorter via the T786 feeder bus (Plaza 33 ↔ LRT Asia Jaya, Seksyen 11, 12 PJ); the PJ01 feeder runs to Taman Medan, LRT Asia Jaya and LRT Taman Jaya; bus 780 connects to Pasar Seni hub. Train service runs every 20 minutes (Plaza 33 official site, 2026-08-06). The official 15-minute walk is the longest LRT walk in this wave's three buildings — a meaningful gap vs PJX (Taman Jaya LRT 5-min walk) and PJ8 (Asia Jaya LRT 5-min walk). For a staff member considering a daily LRT commute, PJX is materially more convenient from the same Kelana Jaya Line.
By car, Plaza 33 is accessible via Jalan Kemajuan to Jalan Semangat to the Federal Highway, and via Jalan Kemajuan to the SPRINT Expressway. E-hail pickup: ground-floor drop-off at the Jalan Kemajuan entrance; standard PJ e-hail pickup. Car park queue at 8:45am not documented in public sources; the 1,244-bay total (with 1:1,000 sf allocation) is sufficient at full occupancy if PHB enforces the allocation. The PJ33 / Plaza 33 integrated campus has Jaya Grocer as a supermarket anchor at the retail podium, which materially improves the lunch + daily-needs amenity for staff.
A Singaporean expansion team flying into Subang Airport (SZB) reaches Plaza 33 in approximately 25 minutes by car; from KLIA, the journey is approximately 50–60 minutes depending on time of day. Plaza 33's most defensible transit asset is the SPRINT / Federal Highway adjacency for car commuters; the LRT walk is the trade-off.
Who's in the building: confirmed Plaza 33 / PJ33 Section 13 cluster tenants
Plaza 33 is the Phase 2 office extension of the integrated PJ33 / Plaza 33 campus. The campus (managed by PHB) hosts a heavy concentration of multinational corporations. The named tenants below are for the broader Section 13 PJ33 + Plaza 33 cluster per broker disclosure; specific Tower A vs Tower B + floor allocations are not disclosed in the sources reviewed:
- Panasonic — electronics / consumer goods (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- Novartis — pharmaceutical (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- Sanofi — pharmaceutical (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- AIA — insurance (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- Schneider Electric — energy management / industrial (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- The Nielsen Company — market research / data analytics (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- Global Enterprise International Malaysia (GEIM) — Singtel Group member — telecommunications (TheSpaceHubs, 2026-08-06)
- Excel Force MSC Bhd (prior tenant; sold unit Mar 2018 at RM 825 psf, prior rent RM 5 psf) — technology / MSC-status (The Edge, 2018-03)
- Jaya Grocer — supermarket anchor at the integrated retail podium (PJ33, the older sister development across the road at Jalan Semangat; PJ33 is the retail home, Plaza 33 is the Phase 2 office extension) — a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06
Important note on tenant attribution: The TheSpaceHubs.com disclosure uses "Section 13" as the cluster label, which encompasses both PJ33 (the older 3-block 5-storey podium, completed ~2008) and Plaza 33 (the newer 2-tower 14–22 storey Grade A office, completed early 2013). Some of these named tenants are more likely on PJ33 than Plaza 33 specifically. Treat as "PJ33 / Plaza 33 Section 13 campus" unless an explicit Tower A or Tower B + floor disclosure is found. The a dated broker listing-cited anchor tenants ("Jaya 33 (PJ33) is the home for Bayer, Prudential Insurance, Merck Sharp and Dohme, Sara Lee, Wyeth, Maybank and Electrolux") are for PJ33 (Jaya 33), NOT Plaza 33 — do not attribute those names to Plaza 33.
Plaza 33 is widely cited as the "Digital Hub of Malaysia" (a dated broker listing BM listing, 2026), reflecting the MSC Cybercentre designation and tech/digital tenant mix — the strongest tenant-narrative fit of any building in this wave.
Lease risk and exit mechanics at Plaza 33
Plaza 33's standard lease-clause set is not published in any source consulted. Two inferred, three unconfirmed:
- Reinstatement cost at exit: not disclosed in the sources reviewed. PJ Grade A norm is RM 5–25 psf depending on scope. Building management call required (PHB) for the Plaza 33-specific scope and cost. (general PJ norm)
- Break clause: Not disclosed. PJ Grade A market practice: tenant may exercise break after year 2 or 3, with 3 months' written notice + 2–3 months' rent compensation. By negotiation only — to be confirmed with PHB.
- Fair wear and tear vs damage: The single most common deposit-dispute trigger in Malaysian commercial leases. The practical protection is a photographic move-in/move-out inventory with date-stamped photos, signed by both tenant and landlord at handover. (general MY practice, v2 spec §2)
- Rent escalation: not disclosed in the sources reviewed. PJ Section 13 norm is fixed 5–7% per annum. For a 2013-vintage building like Plaza 33, fixed 5% is more typical. Building management call required (PHB) for the Plaza 33 figure.
- SST (Sales & Service Tax): 6% on commercial rent if PHB is SST-registered; 8% expanded scope from 1 July 2025 under LHDN SST Order 2025 may apply to the service charge portion. Verify current rate with PHB at Letter of Offer stage.
The first-person ZH account of the standard MY commercial-lease trap remains the strongest single quote for the practical mechanics: "如果你签完合同,中途不做了……没收你的押金,你还需要继续把剩余的租金付完" (thepaper.cn, 2025-08-13) — early exit on a multi-year commercial lease in Malaysia forfeits the deposit AND leaves the tenant liable for the remaining term's rent. The Excel Force MSC Bhd 2018 disposal at RM 825 psf (prior rent RM 5 psf) is the cleanest public-record evidence of strata-resale economics at Plaza 33.
MD / MSC status box: Plaza 33
Plaza 33 is MSC Cybercentre-designated (Tier 1 per cbd.my) — verified 2026-08-06. This is the only MD/MSC-verified building in this wave's three (vs PJ8 and PJX, which leave the field blank in public sources). For a technology / digital / knowledge-economy tenant considering Malaysia Digital incentives, this is the meaningful differentiator.
A quick framing: Malaysia Digital (MD) status since 25 March 2022 is company-activity-based, not building-based — the tax incentive (0% on qualifying IP income, 5–10% on non-qualifying) is yours by virtue of what your company does, not where it sits. Roughly 35% of Malaysia's purpose-built office stock is MD-certified; only ~13% of MD companies actually sit in MD-certified premises (Kimi cross-verified research, 2026-07-30). For a tenant evaluating Plaza 33 specifically: the MSC Cybercentre designation is ecosystem signal (peer tenants, MD-company HR / visa / bank account access), and may unlock faster MD-status application processing — but the tax incentive itself is company-activity-based, not building-based.
Compare: Petaling Jaya submarket peer buildings
Plaza 33 sits in the PJ Section 13 cluster, on the Jalan Kemajuan / Jalan Semangat corridor. Three other Petaling Jaya buildings in the immediate submarket for a tenant shortlisting an office at this price band:
- PJ8 Office Tower (Section 8) — 23 Jalan Barat; 4-block mixed (Block A 13-storey corporate + Block B 12-storey strata + Block C 17-storey corporate + Block D 38-storey serviced apartment); asking RM 3.50–5.50 psf; Asia Jaya LRT 5-min walk; a step down the price band from Plaza 33, with no MSC designation.
- PJX HM Shah Tower (PJ Exchange) — Section 52, 16A Persiaran Barat; 33-storey Grade A, single landlord (SBC Corporation top 7 floors + 16 stratified below); asking RM 4.00–6.60 psf; Taman Jaya LRT 5-min walk; closer to Plaza 33 on grade and price; no MSC designation in public sources.
- Menara LGB (TTDI / Damansara Utama) — 1 Jalan Wan Kadir 2, Damansara Utama; institutional Grade A in the same LDP/SPRINT corridor; asking RM 4.50–5.50 psf band; closer to Plaza 33 on price than PJ8.
All four sit on the LDP / Federal Highway / SPRINT expressway corridor and serve the PJ / western KL corporate market at the RM 3.50–7.50 psf band — roughly 50–70% of KLCC Grade A (RM 6–12.5 psf, per the v2 spec) and a quarter of Singapore CBD Grade A (S$8–14 psf = RM 28–49 psf at current rates). Plaza 33's most distinctive features in this peer set are the MSC Cybercentre designation (verified), the GBI / LEED Gold green cert (broker-reported), the disclosed parking (RM 200–300/bay/mo), and the largest floor plates (~17,000 sqft) — all answerable facts the competition leaves blank.
FAQ: Plaza 33 (PJ Section 13)
Is Plaza 33 Malaysia Digital / MSC-status?
Yes — MSC Cybercentre (Tier 1) per cbd.my, 2026-08-06. This is the only MD/MSC-verified building in this wave's three. Note: MD status since 25 March 2022 is company-activity-based, not building-based — the building designation is ecosystem signal, not a tax event for the tenant.
What is the service charge at Plaza 33?
not disclosed in the sources reviewed in any listing, landlord source, or broker research consulted. Building management contact: Pelaburan Hartanah Berhad (PHB). PJ Section 13 Grade A market norm is ~RM 0.60–0.85 psf. Budget RM 0.75 psf as a placeholder for early modelling; confirm with PHB.
How much is a 5,000 sq ft office at Plaza 33 per month?
At the central-tendency asking rent of RM 5.50 psf, base rent is RM 27,500/month. All-in (estimated service charge + 5 parking bays + 30 hrs/mo AC OT (tenant-metered) + utilities + SST 8%) lands at approximately RM 36,000/month — about 31% above the headline rent. A JLL-listed fully-fitted unit at RM 7.50 psf would push all-in to ~RM 45,000–46,000/month for the same 5,000 sq ft.
What is the floor plate size at Plaza 33?
~17,000 sq ft lettable per floor (17,100 sqft per cbd.my, 17,265 sqft per CBD listing), the largest floor plates in this wave's three buildings. Available configurations per a dated broker listing: half floor basic 8,056 sf; full floor basic 16,001 sf; half floor fitted 9,107 sf; full floor fitted 13,240 sf and 17,130 sf.
Is Plaza 33 green certified?
GBI-certified (Green Building Index); widely reported as LEED Gold per cbd.my / getcommercialproperty, 2026-08-06. Specific certificate portfolio not on the GBI public register; broker disclosure is the available evidence. The 4.2 m (13 ft) raised-floor ceiling height and central chiller plant with tenant-controlled AC are the spec-level design markers of a green-certified Grade A office.
How far is Plaza 33 from the nearest LRT?
Asia Jaya LRT (Kelana Jaya Line) is a 15-minute walk per the Plaza 33 official site, or shorter via the T786 feeder bus (Plaza 33 ↔ LRT Asia Jaya, Seksyen 11, 12 PJ); PJ01 feeder to Taman Medan, LRT Asia Jaya and LRT Taman Jaya; bus 780 to Pasar Seni hub. The 15-minute walk is the longest LRT walk in this wave's three buildings.
What is the car park ratio at Plaza 33?
1 bay per 1,000 sq ft leased (1:1,000) confirmed by cbd.my and a dated broker listing, 2026-08-06. 1,244 bays total. Season parking RM 200/bay/mo; reserved parking RM 300/bay/mo. Visitor / public parking RM 3.30–5.00/hr, max RM 61.40/day (a dated broker listing, 2026).
What is the minimum lease term at Plaza 33?
not disclosed in the sources reviewed. PJ Section 13 Grade A norm is 3 years for bare units; 1 year is observed on a partly-fitted 7,800 sqft unit per a Jul 2026 a dated broker listing listing by Simon Tan — short-term partly-fitted leases are negotiable. Building management call required (PHB) for the current Plaza 33 minimum.
Verified stamp: Asking rent, parking, MD/MSC status, green cert, anchor tenants (Section 13 campus cluster), completion year, tenure, asset manager, and developer verified 2026-08-06 by SPEEDHOME. Service charge, AC OT rate, total NLA reconciliation (513,904 vs 300,000 sqft), break clause, reinstatement cost, and rent escalation rate are not in public sources — building management call required (Pelaburan Hartanah Berhad / PHB, Plaza 33 management office, www.phb.com.my).
Compare more KL offices
Start with the KL office leasing guide. Then compare Amcorp Tower and CP Tower before shortlisting a building.
